SR22 Insurance GA – What you need to know
The SR22 insurance process in Georgia is a requirement in the state for drivers reinstating their driver’s license. The reason for reinstatement may be for drivers who have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI). In Georgia, a driver with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 or higher is considered driving under the influence. The SR22 may also be required for other types of motor vehicle offenses considered serious offenses such as:
- Driving without car insurance.
- Driving with a suspended license.
- Dangerous driving.
- Convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI).
- Involvement in a not-at-fault or at-fault accident without having taken out auto insurance.
- Too many tickets or repeated offenses in a short time.
- Driving with a revoked license.
Penalties for DUI
Penalties for illegal driving while intoxicated include:
- License suspension.
- Jail time.
- Alcohol education class.
Penalties for a driver convicted of drink-driving are broken down by the number of offenses they incur:
- The time spent in prison can range from 10 days to 12 months.
- A minimum of 40 hours of community service may be required.
- Fines can range from $300 to $1,000.
- The minimum suspension period for a driver’s license is 180 days.
- The prison sentence is increased from 90 days to one year.
- Community service is required for a minimum of 30 days.
- A fine increase ranges from $600 to $1,000.
- The individual’s driver’s license can be suspended for three years.
- The length of prison varies from 120 days to 1 year.
- There is a minimum of 30 days of community service.
- The fine increases from $1,000 to $5,000.
- There is a five-year suspension of the individual’s driver’s license.
What is SR22 Insurance in Georgia?
When a driver’s license is reinstated, an individual’s insurance company is responsible for filing an SR22 insurance with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The form is a verification to the state that the driver has met the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements for three years.
Information from The General further explains how the SR22 is applicable for reinstatement 90 days after the initial suspension. The form, known as the Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate, must show via receipt that the driver has paid for applicable auto coverage and that the driver is in compliance with the state’s minimum requirements.
The driver must maintain SR22 coverage for at least one year. If for any reason the insurance policy is canceled by the driver within three years, the Georgia Department of Driver Services is notified, resulting in the cancellation of the individual’s driver’s license.
According to Serenity Group, minimum liability coverage in Georgia is $25,000 for incidents involving injury to one person, $50,000 for injury to two or more people, and $20,000 to cover property damage. If the driver does not pay his insurance premium, this may result in the suspension of the driver’s license.
SR22 Additional Information
It is important for drivers who are required to file an SR22 to keep in mind that it is not insurance. This is the form filed with the state proving you have insurance. The form may also be referred to as Form SR-22, Bond SR-22, or Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
According to Assurance SOLO, drivers who file an SR22 must list all vehicles owned on the form. If a driver tries to reinstate their license but no longer owns a vehicle, it is possible to qualify for a non-owner policy.
A non-owner policy is an option for drivers who need to file an SR22 form because they have access to other vehicles to drive, such as those owned by a family member or friend. Having car insurance while meeting SR22 requirements also allows drivers who do not own a vehicle to rent a vehicle, anytime, and comply with national insurance regulations.
In Georgia, the rates for a non-owner auto insurance policy vary depending on the insurance company. On average, the estimated cost is $1107 per year.
Estimated Cost of SR22 Insurance
When purchasing auto insurance to meet state SR22 requirements, drivers may find the cost of coverage higher, according to ArgentGeek . The mandatory length of maintenance for an SR22 certificate is three years. The length of time required by the State of Georgia depends on the seriousness of the offense/violation.
Although a judge may require a convicted driver to have Form SR22 filed with the state by their auto insurance company, the driver may be considered high risk. If this happens, the auto insurance company is not obligated to offer SR22 services.